The Pucklechurch community website
village news, events, clubs, community, history

Click here
to sign up for monthly email updates on news and events

If you are not receiving emails please check the following:
(i) your spam folder
(ii) your spam settings have pucklechurch.org
as a trusted domain

Calendar banner02

Do you want your meeting or event listed?  Click here to fill out a simple form or email the details to: webmaster@pucklechurch.org. Please provide date, time, and location and specify if this is open to all or just to members. The site is updated at least twice a month

For regular weekly events and meetings, click here...

For venues to hire, click here...

Mobile phone users click here for a version of the calendar that is easier to read on your phone.

Village Calendar 2014
(last updated 03/09/2014)

Events highlighted in yellow are open to all.
However, they may require tickets or other restrictions so please check with organisers.

Events highlighted in orange have been added or changed recently

September 2014

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Mon, 1st Sep:

Tue, 2nd Sep: Happy Circle Trip to Poole 9am-7pm. Pick-up at Dennisworth bus stop and Community Centre. Please be at pick-up 10 mins before departure. More information from Liz Archibald 0117-9374054

Wed, 3rd Sep: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 4th Sep: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 5th Sep:

Sat, 6th Sep: Parish Council Walk-in. This is a walk-in surgery for residents to meet member(s) of the Parish Council to discuss items of interest, their concerns or ideas of relevance to the local community. From 10.00am to noon in the Community Centre meeting room, Pucklechurch

Sun, 7th Sep: Quiz Night - Popular quiz with prizes. Up to six in a team, £1pp.  Non-members welcome.  Cash Prizes and a raffle. Starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

Mon, 8th Sep:

Tue, 9th Sep: Folk Dance Club with Pete and Marj Hendy with Bee's Knee's ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 10th Sep:

Thu, 11th Sep:

Fri, 12th Sep:

Sat, 13th Sep:

Sun, 14th Sep: Film Night at the Social Club featuring the “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” starring Dame Judy Dench, Tom Wilkinson, Bill Nighy, Dev Patel and Maggie Smith. Come and enjoy a drink and watch a great film. Film starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Mon, 15th Sep:

Tue, 16th Sep:

Wed, 17th Sep: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 18th Sep: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 19th Sep:

Sat, 20th Sep:

Sun, 21st Sep:

Mon, 22nd Sep:

Tue, 23rd Sep: Folk Dance Club with Ian Ludbrook and with Dave Byett ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 24th Sep: Revel 2014 AGM - 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room, Abson Road

Thu, 25th Sep:

Fri, 26th Sep: Live Music (last Friday of every month) featuring local artists.  This is an open mic night and our musicians love to have an audience. Come and watch or join in. We feature Electric and Acoustic sets and have a wide range of music represented. We are getting a good reputation in the Bristol/Bath area and attract many talented performers. Music starts at 8.30pm at the PVSSC St Aldam's Drive, Pucklechurch.  Call/text Martin on 0780 907 5784 or opemmic@pucklechurch.org if you have questions.  Find us on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/PucklechurchOpenMic

Sat, 27th Sep:

Sun, 28th Sep: Quiz Night - Popular quiz with prizes. Up to six in a team, £1pp.  Non-members welcome.  Cash Prizes and a raffle. Starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

Mon, 29th Sep:

Tue, 30th Sep:

October 2014

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Wed, 1st Oct: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Wed, 1st Oct: Gardeners' Club Meeting. Martin Hall – ‘Adventures in Gardening’ and the Frank Bradley trophy competition - A humorous vegetable. Meet at 8.00pm in the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road. New members always welcome, just come to the meeting.

Thu, 2nd Oct: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 3rd Oct:

Sat, 4th Oct: Parish Council Walk-in. This is a walk-in surgery for residents to meet member(s) of the Parish Council to discuss items of interest, their concerns or ideas of relevance to the local community. From 10.00am to noon in the Community Centre meeting room, Pucklechurch

Sun, 5th Oct:

Mon, 6th Oct:

Tue, 7th Oct: Folk Dance Club with Jean Crook and with Weston Country Dance Band ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Tue, 7th Oct: Happy Circle Trip to Poole 9am-7pm. Pick-up at Dennisworth bus stop and Community Centre. Please be at pick-up 10 mins before departure. More information from Liz Archibald 0117-9374054

Wed, 8th Oct:

Thu, 9th Oct:

Fri, 10th Oct:

Sat, 11th Oct:

Sun, 12th Oct:

Mon, 13th Oct:

Tue, 14th Oct:

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Wed, 15th Oct: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 16th Oct: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 17th Oct:

Sat, 18th Oct:

Sun, 19th Oct:

Mon, 20th Oct:

Tue, 21st Oct: Folk Dance Club with Malcolm Smith ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 22nd Oct:

Thu, 23rd Oct:

Fri, 24th Oct:

Sat, 25th Oct:

Sun, 26th Oct: [BST Ends] Quiz Night - Popular quiz with prizes. Up to six in a team, £1pp.  Non-members welcome.  Cash Prizes and a raffle. Starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

Mon, 27th Oct:

Tue, 28th Oct:

Wed, 29th Oct:

Thu, 30th Oct:

Fri, 31st Oct: [Halloween]: Live Music (last Friday of every month) featuring local artists.  This is an open mic night and our musicians love to have an audience. Come and watch or join in. We feature Electric and Acoustic sets and have a wide range of music represented. We are getting a good reputation in the Bristol/Bath area and attract many talented performers. Music starts at 8.30pm at the PVSSC St Aldam's Drive, Pucklechurch. Call/text Martin on 0780 907 5784 or opemmic@pucklechurch.org if you have questions. Find us on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/PucklechurchOpenMic

November 2014

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Sat, 1st Nov: Parish Council Walk-in. This is a walk-in surgery for residents to meet member(s) of the Parish Council to discuss items of interest, their concerns or ideas of relevance to the local community. From 10.00am to noon in the Community Centre meeting room, Pucklechurch

Sun, 2nd Nov:

Mon, 3rd Nov:

Tue, 4th Nov: Folk Dance Club with Barry Gant and with Mike Elsom ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 5th Nov: [Guy Fawkes Night] Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend. If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Wed, 5th Nov: [Guy Fawkes Night] Gardeners' Club Meeting. Mr. G. Nicholls – ‘Photography in the Garden’ plus the competition – Photograph of your own garden. Meet at 8.00pm in the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road. New members always welcome, just come to the meeting.

Thu, 6th Nov: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 7th Nov:

Sat, 8th Nov: “Live at the PVSSC” Live music. Chris Stanley and band will be launching his debut album, 'Americana'. For the first time ever they will be performing full band versions of the songs from Amerciana, the Echoes ep and some brand new tunes. Entry is free and the support acts include the great Geoff Pugh and Tim Rice. Everyone is welcome. From 8.00pm at the PVSSC, St Aldam's Drive.

Sun, 9th Nov: [Remembrance Sunday]

Mon, 10th Nov:

Tue, 11th Nov:

Wed, 12th Nov:

Thu, 13th Nov:

Fri, 14th Nov:

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Sat, 15th Nov:

Sun, 16th Nov:

Mon, 17th Nov:

Tue, 18th Nov: Folk Dance Club with Mike Courthold and with Weston Country Dance Band ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 19th Nov: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 20th Nov: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 21st Nov:

Sat, 22nd Nov:

Sun, 23rd Nov:

Mon, 24th Nov:

Tue, 25th Nov:

Wed, 26th Nov:

Thu, 27th Nov:

Fri, 28th Nov:

Sat, 29th Nov:

Sun, 30th Nov: [St. Andrew's Day] Quiz Night - Popular quiz with prizes. Up to six in a team, £1pp.  Cash Prizes and a raffle. Non-members welcome.  Starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

December 2014

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Mon, 1st Dec:

Tue, 2nd Dec: Folk Dance Club with Alan Davies and with Dave Byett PLEASE NOTE VENUE CHANGE ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in Christchurch Parish Hall, North St, Downend BS16 5SG

Wed, 3rd Dec: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 4th Dec: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Thu, 4th Dec: Pucklechurch Players Present... Hickory Dickory Dock, A Pantomime by Norman Robbins. Performance starts at 7.30pm at the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road. Call 937 3015 for tickets.

Fri, 5th Dec: Pucklechurch Players Present... Hickory Dickory Dock, A Pantomime by Norman Robbins. Performance starts at 7.30pm at the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road. Call 937 3015 for tickets.

Sat, 6th Dec: Happy Circle Trip for saturday xmas shopping Swindon outlet centre 9am-6pm. Pick-up at Dennisworth bus stop and Community Centre. Please be at pick-up 10 mins before departure. More information from Liz Archibald 0117-9374054

Sat, 6th Dec: Parish Council Walk-in. This is a walk-in surgery for residents to meet member(s) of the Parish Council to discuss items of interest, their concerns or ideas of relevance to the local community. From 10.00am to noon in the Community Centre meeting room, Pucklechurch

Sat, 6th December: Pucklechurch Players Present... Hickory Dickory Dock, A Pantomime by Norman Robbins. Matinee starts at 2.00pm and evening performance at 7.30pm at the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road.

Sun, 7th Dec:

Mon, 8th Dec:

Tue, 9th Dec:

Wed, 10th Dec: Gardeners' Club Meeting. ‘Christmas Quiz and Seasonal Supper’ with the competition – Christmas flower arrangement. Meet at 8.00pm in the Community Centre Hall, Abson Road.

Thu, 11th Dec:

Fri, 12th Dec:

Sat, 13th Dec: Folk Dance Club Christmas Dance with Ian Ludbrook and with Pendragon ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Sun, 14th Dec:

Don’t forget to check herefor listings of regular weekly meetings

Mon, 15th Dec:

Tue, 16th Dec: Folk Dance Club with Pete Howarth ~ New members always welcome. From 7.45pm to 10.15pm in the Community Centre hall

Wed, 17th Dec: Parish Council meeting at 7.30pm in the Community Centre meeting room. Members of the public are invited to attend.  If you wish to speak at the meeting you are requested to let the clerk know in advance.

Thu, 18th Dec: Drop In Baby Clinic and play session. An opportunity for parents/carers to have their baby weighed and speak to the Health Visitor. A play session will be provided by Cadbury Heath Children's Centre staff. For more information debbie.hitchins@southglos.gov.uk or 01454 862974. 1.30 to 3.00pm at the Pucklechurch Community Centre on Abson Road

Fri, 19th Dec:

Sat, 20th Dec:

Sun, 21st Dec: Christmas Quiz Night - Popular quiz with prizes. Up to six in a team, £1pp.  Cash Prizes and a raffle. Non-members welcome. Starts at 8.30pm in the Social Club at the Community Centre, Abson Road.

Mon, 22nd Dec:

Tue, 23rd Dec:

Wed, 24th Dec:

Thu, 25th Dec: [Christmas Day]

Fri, 26th Dec: [Boxing Day] Live Music (last Friday of every month) featuring local artists.  This is an open mic night and our musicians love to have an audience. Come and watch or join in. We feature Electric and Acoustic sets and have a wide range of music represented. We are getting a good reputation in the Bristol/Bath area and attract many talented performers. Music starts at 8.30pm at the PVSSC St Aldam's Drive, Pucklechurch. Call/text Martin on 0780 907 5784 or opemmic@pucklechurch.org if you have questions. Find us on Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/PucklechurchOpenMic

Sat, 27th Dec:

Sun, 28th Dec:

Mon, 29th Dec:

Tue, 30th Dec: Folk Dance Club Please note there is no club this week

Wed, 31st Dec: [New Year's Eve]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]

[back to top]